The White City by Grace Hitchcock

white city

Book Summary:

While attending the Chicago World’s Fair in 1893, Winnifred Wylde believes she witnessed a woman being kidnapped. She tries to convince her father, an inspector with the Chicago police, to look into reports of mysterious disappearances around the White City. Inspector Wylde tries to dismiss her claims as exaggeration of an overactive imagination, but he eventually concedes to letting her go undercover as secretary to the man in question—if she takes her pistol for protection and Jude Thorpe, a policeman, for bodyguard.

 

My Thoughts:

I really love the cover of this book!  It hints at mystery for sure!  I enjoyed this book over all, however, I do have to say that is wasn’t exactly what I expected.  I thought that this book would really grab me with intense danger and suspense.  It felt more like a cozy mystery, which isn’t a bad thing, it just was not what I was diving into this book expecting.  Winnifred see’s what she thinks is a kidnapping in the first pages of this book and spends the rest of the story working towards figuring out the details behind what she witnessed.  At times it seemed a little bit of a stretch that her father believes her enough to assign round the clock detail for protection, yet not enough to actually get the police to investigate themselves.  I really enjoyed the dynamic between Winnie and Jude.  He was every bit the hero and protector that a damsel in distress could want.  Their attraction for each other made their interactions spark with chemistry.  As this story neared its conclusion it definitely picked up paced and offered some moments of suspense that kept me turning the pages.  I enjoyed this book and will definitely be keeping up with this series as new books hit the shelves.

If you would like to purchase a copy of The White City or learn more about Grace Hitchock, visit the links below!

Amazon: The White City

http://gracehitchcockbooks.com/

 

*I was given a complimentary copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  All opinions and thoughts are my own.

Leave a comment