True to You by Becky Wade


Summary:

After a devastating heartbreak three years ago, genealogist and historical village owner Nora Bradford has decided that burying her nose in her work and her books is far safer than romance in the here and now.
Unlike Nora, former Navy SEAL and Medal of Honor recipient John Lawson is a modern-day man, usually 100 percent focused on the present. But when he’s diagnosed with an inherited condition, he’s forced to dig into the secrets of his past and his adoption as an infant, enlisting Nora to help him uncover the identity of his birth mother. 
The more time they spend together, the more this pair of opposites suspects they just might be a perfect match. However, John’s already dating someone and Nora’s not sure she’s ready to trade her crushes on fictional heroes for the risks of a real relationship. Finding the answers they’re seeking will test the limits of their identity, their faith, and their devotion to one another.

My Thoughts:

I loved this book!  I have only recently begun to branch out from my historical ficton bubble and this book was such a great pick!  This book had me captivated from start to finish!  I thought the plot was interesting and characters relatable and easy to connect with.  I loved Nora!  She was unique and genuine, and very much a typical romantic with her binge watching her BBC drama and pints of Ben and Jerry at the ready.  I loved the little transformation that she goes through when Willow decides to “enhance” her looks. Who doesn’t love a makeover on an already charming character? I really enjoyed that we got to see a bit of the Bradford sisters interact and learn a little of their stories.  Makes me excited for what is to come in future books! I loved the interaction between Nora and John.  Together they are perfection! I enjoyed watching their friendship develop as they searched for John’s birth mother.  John was dealing with a lot of things throuought the course of this story  and it was great to see his character shine through in how he handled each situation. There was a plot twist towards the end of the book that totally took me by surprise.  I love it when a book surprises me!  It leads to some very emotional pages for John and Nora, but again, I love how it allowed the characters to really challenge what they believe and put their relationship to the test. So hard, but so good!  I felt like I needed to cry and eat Ben and Jerry’s and tell Nora everything would be ok.  I don’t want to give anything away about this book so I will just say that I was more than satisfied with the conclusion of this story.  I checked this book out from the library, but I am going to order my own copy because I loved it so much!  This book gets all the good thoughts and feels from me!  Fairly certain I am going to binge read all the Becky Wade books in existence because this one was so good!  If you haven’t read it, you are missing out! 

To order your own copy of True to You by Becky Wade click on one of the links below!

Amazon: True to You
BeckyWade.com

Leave a Reply

