The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest by Melanie Dickerson


Summary:

The margrave owns the finest hunting grounds for miles around—and who teaches children to read, but by night this young beauty has become the secret lifeline to the poorest of the poor.

For Jorgen Hartman, the margrave’s forester, tracking down a poacher is a duty he is all too willing to perform. Jorgen inherited his post from the man who raised him . . . a man who was murdered at the hands of a poacher.
When Jorgen and Odette meet at the Midsummer festival and share a connection during a dance, neither has any idea that they are already adversaries.
The one man she wants is bound by duty to capture her; the one woman he loves is his cunning target . . . What becomes of a forester who protects a notorious poacher? What becomes of a poacher when she is finally discovered?

My Thoughts:

This book was a total impulse buy based on the front cover!  I love the cover of this book!  I have never read a story set in a Medeival time period and I am not usually drawn to fairy tales, but this cover sucked me in! I thought that the twist on the Robin Hood story was inventive.  I was intrigued to read about Odette and her secret evening trips to poach in the Thornbeck forest.  I think it was admirable of her to seek to provide help and food to the poor and orphaned children of the village.  I liked that Odette and Jorgen were able to bond over their experiences as past orphans.  I thought that the moments they shared with eachother about their struggles during those times of their life gave their characters a depth and closeness that deepened their friendship.  As the book progressed I started getting anxious when Odette would go out poaching at night.  It also became apparent that not everyone in the story had good intentions when it came to Odette.  I was so pleased that throughout this story Jorgen remained firm in his loyalty to doing the right thing, in spite of the difficult situation he was placed in.  There are several plot twists, and a very tense scene in the woods near the end of the story that had me quickly turning the pages to see the conclusion.  I will not spoil the ending of this book, but I will say that the hero of this book remained honest and loyal, and the book wraps up with a true fairy tale ending. I think readers who enjoy fairy tale retellings will enjoy The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest. It has all the necessary items for a great fairy tale! A heroine with strong ideals, an honest and protective hero, a deceitful villain, and a fairy tale ending! 

To purchase our own copy of The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest visit one of the links below!

Amazon: The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest
Melanie Dickerson’s Website

Leave a Reply

