To the Farthest Shores by Elizabeth Camden


Summary:

The unpredictability of her upbringing prepared army nurse Jenny Bennett to face any challenge at the Presidio Army base, but the sudden reappearance in her life of the dashing naval officer who broke her heart six years ago is enough to rattle even her. Lieutenant Ryan Gallagher is one of the few men in the world qualified to carry out a daring government mission overseas–an assignment that destroyed his reputation and broke the heart of the only woman he ever loved. Honor-bound never to reveal where he was during those years, he can’t tell Jenny the truth, or it will endanger an ongoing mission and put thousands of lives at risk. 

Ryan thinks he may have finally found a solution to his impossible situation, but he needs Jenny’s help. While her loyalty to her country compels her to agree, she was too badly hurt to fall for Ryan again despite his determination to win her back. When an unknown threat from Ryan’s past puts everything at risk–including his life–can they overcome the seemingly insurmountable odds stacked against them in time?

My Thoughts:

I found this book to be strangely captivating.  The introduction to Jenny and Ryan in the prologue was sweet and heart wrenching all at the same time.  In chapter 1 we catch up with Jenny six years later and her life looks nothing like I imagined it would at the end of the prologue.  Sigh. Poor Jenny.  I was angry and hurt right alongside her when Ryan made an appearance 6 years later.  As the story unfolded I had very mixed feelings about Jenny and Ryan.  Honestly I still cannot decide if I liked Thier characters or not.  I do think that these characters were genuine and showed how we are all flawed in life and are shaped by the events in our past.  I enjoyed reading out pearl farming and found all of the facts related to that very interesting.  Elizabeth Camden is so great at highlighting events in history and brining them to life through the situations with her characters.  While I took issue with the way that Ryan chose to deal with painful situations by lying repetitively, I also feel like that is a very genuine and common response for a lot of people in hard situations.  It made his character human, even though as a reader, I desperately wanted him to be the unblemished hero of this story.  I was at times anxious for Jenny to just forgive Ryan of his misdeeds, and then instantly would feel the hurt he had caused her coming off the pages.  I found myself wanting thier situation to be easy, and happy, without all the hurt and dissapointments from the past clouding the future, however I think the flaws in the characters made them genuine.  Life is messy and hard and I think that was reflected in this book.  I appreciated that.  And then there was Finn.  I would not be surprised if we see Finn get his own story.  I was rooting for Finn to overcome his issues and his humor and determination made me really like him in the end.  His last scene with Jenny made me tear up a little.  He was one of those characters who unexpectedly became your favorite by the end of the book.  This book was interesting and captivating, with genuine characters who were flawed and struggling to move on from their past and forgive.  This book was memorable and I did enjoy it overall.  
www.elizabethcamden.com
Amazon

Leave a Reply

